About us

Run by the artist Rita Vitorelli, Spike is a contemporary art magazine, online platform, and event space. The flagship print magazine Spike is aimed at sustaining a vigorous, independent, and meaningful art criticism. Essays by leading critics and curators are complemented by other formats offering room for polemics, meditations, and short answers to urgent questions. Published four times a year, Spike offers its readers both intimacy and immediacy through an unusually open editorial approach that is not afraid of controversy and provocation. The event space Spike Berlin has become known for heated round-table discussions and high-profile talks, while Spike Online features reports, interviews, and essays from around the world.

Imprint

VIENNA OFFICE
Spike Studios
Rita Vitorelli
Löwengasse 18/2
1030 Vienna
Austria
T +43 (0) 660 797 2424

VAT.No ATU61502788

spike@spikeartmagazine.com

SPIKE BERLIN
Spike Art Magazine
Rosa-Luxemburg-Strasse 45
10178 Berlin
Germany
T +49 (0)30 2838 6464

PUBLISHER
Rita Vitorelli

Place of jurisdiction: Commercial Court Vienna

Team

Chief Editor
Rita Vitorelli

Senior Editor
Colin Lang
colin.lang@spikeartmagazine.com

Editors-at-Large
Christian Kobald
Alexander Scrimgeour

Editors
Dean Kissick (New York)
dean.kissick@spikeartmagazine.com
Alexandra Leake Germer (Reviews)
alexandra.germer@spikeartmagazine.com

Project Manager
Stefan Tasch
stefan.tasch@spikeartmagazine.com 

Managing Editor
Romina Farkas (maternity leave)
romina.farkas@spikeartmagazine.com

Art Director
Bureau Mirko Borsche
Mirko Borsche

Advertising 
Andrew Cannon
andrew.cannon@spikeartmagazine.com

Subscriptions & Distribution
Janett Krückemeier
janett.krueckemeier@spikeartmagazine.com

Web Design
Bureau Mirko Borsche
Mirko Borsche, Gian Gisiger

Web Programming
Isaac Bigsby Trogdon

 

 

Supported by